England learn women's and men's T20 World Cup groups for 2020


England are currently second in the women’s T20 world rankings

England have been drawn in the same group as West Indies for the Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia in 2020, while the England men’s side will face India, South Africa and Afghanistan.

It is the first time the women’s and men’s T20 World Cups will be held as standalone events in the same year and in the same country.

Pakistan, South Africa and a qualifier complete England’s women’s group.

The competition begins on 21 February, with the final at the MCG on 8 March.

With the final on International Women’s Day, organisers are hoping to attract a world record attendance for a women’s sporting fixture.

Hosts Australia make up the other group with New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka and another qualifier.

England seamer Tom Curran (right), who is playing in Australia’s Big Bash League, was among the players at the announcement

Later in the year, the England men’s side will also face two qualifiers in the Super 12 stage.

Hosts Australia meet Pakistan, the world’s top-ranked team, in the opening match of the other Super 12 group, which also includes West Indies, New Zealand and two more qualifiers.

Afghanistan had clinched the last of the automatic Super 12 places, which were based on the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) rankings on 31 December 2018.

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, who just missed out, must compete in the first round alongside six teams who make it through the ICC Global Qualifier – which could include Ireland and Scotland.

The tournament – formerly known as the World Twenty20 – begins on 18 October 2020, culminating with the final at the MCG on 15 November.

  • England men’s Super 12 fixtures: v qualifier (Perth, 26 Oct); South Africa (Sydney, 30 Oct); India (Melbourne, 1 Nov); Afghanistan (Brisbane, 4 Nov); qualifier (Adelaide, 7 Nov)
  • Full men’s tournament fixtures and venues

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This